Acronym Finder
Searchable database of common acronyms of all sorts - computers, technology, telecommunications, Defence forces and others.

BabelFish
AltaVista's BabelFish Translator lets you translate passages from English to French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish or the other way around. Or type in any URL and see the page translated into the language of your choice.

Cliche finder
Special tool for searching over 3000 cliches!

YourDictionary.com
Find definitions in English, German, French, Greek, Latin and other languages. You can also access topical dictionaries, a thesaurus, and a Dictionary Doctor who answers questions about grammar and language. Have fun with word games and Word of the Day.

Encarta World English Dictionary.
Look up a word in the Dictionary and hear it spoken aloud. Click on the icon above the definition for the correct pronunciation.

Grammar Slammer
Helps you fix problems with style and usage, capitalisation, abbreviations, punctuation, common errors and a grammar glossary.

Merriam Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Look up a word, get spelling help, check a pronunciation, and learn how to cite dictionary, thesauri and other online sources.

OneLook Dictionaries.
Search more than 130 dictionaries at once. Dictionaries include specialised dictionaries, such as medical, business, technical, slang, sports and lexicons.

Rhetorical Figures
From alliteration to zeugma, all the figures of speech figure in here.

Rhyming Dictionary
Enter a word and find a corresponding list of words which rhyme, along with synonyms, homophones and other similar or related words. Also find definitions, quotes and Shakespearean works containing the word.

Roget's Thesaurus
The internet edition of this classic. Search for words or browse alphabetically and by word category.

Web of On-line Dictionaries.
Anyone with a love of language(s) should visit this rich site. Links to over 1000 dictionaries in 200 languages!

William Strunk Jr's The Elements of Style
Online publication of Strunk's classic guide to the English language.

The Word Detective.
Etymologist Evan Morris will take you on a tour of the English language, from Medieval English to modern slang terms.

Word With You
A daily on-line column, featuring little known facts about well known words and phrases.

WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary
An online rhyming dictionary that matches beginning or end rhymes.

WWW Acronym and Abbreviation Server
An index of over 17,000 acronyms and their expansions.